25 Mar 2019
TSS Cricket Round 8 vs IGS: TSS Premiers 2019

Click on a thumbnail to enlarge

TSS Cricket Round 8 vs IGS: TSS Premiers 2019

Round 8 of the GPS cricket saw TSS play games in our last round vs IGS. Congratulations to 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B, 6C, 7B, 7D, 8A, 8B, 9B, 9C, 10A, 10B, 11A, 2nd XI and 1st XI to secure wins.

There was some outstanding contributions with Jack Kann with 48no and Charlie Hanrahan 5/7 in 2nd XI, Judd van der Laan rallying the 11A’s to a close win with 79, Tom Gossett 59 runs in a solid 10A win, Justin Faber 50 in 9A’s, Griff Williams 76 in an 8A victory and Angus James a fine double of 4/1 and 29no in the 6A’s win were standout achievements.

We were very competitive across all of our teams again this year and…whilst no team went undefeated this season…three teams only dropped one game across the whole season…the Yr8A’s captained by Daniel Statham with coaches Kieron Mulcahy and Jack McDonald… the 10B’s captained by Charlie Blok and coached by Mr Buckley and Luke McIlwraith and 1st XI Captained by Hugo Burdon & Tom Watts and coached by Ross Wallace and Brad Sperling.

The 1st XI batted first towards the 2019 GPS Cricket Premiership vs IGS. It was such an exciting finish and just like last year it came down to the last over. They needed 10 to win and we needed to bowl them out. If we had lost Nudgee would have won the title...so it was a great win, just because every 1st XI game has been close…. but the TSS 1st XI outplayed the opposition in the key moments of the match. Cody Durante (51) and Matthew Manley (36) had a key partnership and then TSS kept the pressure on in the field with Peter Lynch chiming in with a run out and 3 wickets. Matthew Dalton delivered in the last over of the match in a thrilling finale.

Congratulations to all contributors this season and congratulations TSS on retaining the 1st XI GPS Cricket Premiership. The Earle Williams Trophy will stay at TSS…where it belongs in 2019.

The Presentation Night was Saturday night with 1st XI awards of bowling to: Peter Lynch and Ky Newitt, batting to Cody Durante, Alrounder to Jack Hocart and Fielding shared by Tom Watts and Ky Shield.

The Freeman Family received the Supporters award. Tim Faber won Yr5 Player of the Year, Henry Wiesner won Yr6 Player of the Year, Lachie Mair won Yr7-9 Player of the Year, Wilson Statham and Matthew Eddowes shared the 2nd XI Player of the Year and the 8A,10B & 1st XI Shared Team of the Year.

Result summaries of games played vs IGS are as follows.

*1st XI won by 10 runs

TSS 8/181

IGS 10/171

Best bowling - P. Lynch 3/41

Best batting - C. Durante 51

*2nd XI won by 9 wickets

IGS 10/71

TSS 1/74

Best bowling - C. Hanrahan 5/7

Best batting - J. Kann 48

*11A won by 5 wickets

IGS - 185/5

TSS - 187/5

Best batting - J. Van Der Laan 79

Best bowling - S. Heathwood 2/31

*10A won by 30 runs

TSS 8/171

IGS 10/141

Best bowling - T. Murdoch 4/16

Best batting - T. Gossett 59

*10B won by 106 runs

TSS - 9/187

IGS - 10/81

Best Batting - L Dougherty 34

Best Bowling - H Anthony 2/9

*10C lost by 17 runs

BGS 4/133

TSS 6/116

Best Bowling - A.Place 0/6

Best Batting - D.Vega 17

*9A lost by 1 run

IGS 9/149

TSS 10/148

Best Bowling - C.Veivers 2/15

Best Batting - J.Faber 50

*9B won by 4wkts

IGS 9/120

TSS 6/121

Best Bowling: J. Morris 2/21

Best Batting: C. Hawkins 24

*9C won by 3 wickets

BGS 9/65

TSS 7/66

Best Bowling: J. Towne 2/3

Best Batting: S. Luke 13

*8A won by 43 runs

TSS 5/198

IGS 7/155

Best bowling - H Sullivan 1/13

Best batting - G Williams 76

*8B win by 22 runs

TSS 9/127

IGS 5/105

Best Bowling - E. Melton 1/7

Best Batting - C. Lines 39*

*7A lost by 81 runs

IGS 5/192

TSS 10/111

Best Batting: R. Johnson 35

Best Bowling: J. Parkinson 3/29

*7B won by 6 runs

TSS 9/125

IGS 10/119

Best bowling - J. Bredhauer 3/12

Best batting - D. Wells 23*

*7C lost by 25 runs

IGS 9/66

TSS 10/41

Best Batting - J. McPhee 12

Best Bowling - D. Hindmarsh 2/7

*6A won by 20 runs

TSS 10/82

IGS 9/62

Best Bowling - A. James 4/1

Best Batting - A. James 29*

*6B won by 63 runs

TSS 5/99

IGS 7/36

Best batting - S. Lewis 13

Best bowling - W. McDougall 2/3

*5A won by 7 wickets

IGS 8/109

TSS 3/110

Best Bowling - Z. Melton 1/13

Best Batting - T. Faber 20*

*5B won by 33 runs

TSS 5/99

BBC 9/66

Best Bowling - S. Whyatt 2/8

Best Batting - W. Chen 15 n.o.

*6C def 5C by 8 wickets

5C 2/49

6C 2/50

Best bowling - E. Hodgson 1/13

Best batting - J. Bibby 14*